LibGuides: Youth & Family Resource Guide: For Program Providers

For Kids

For Teens

For Parents & Families

For Providers

Tradui paj sa a an kreyòl ayisyen →

Traducir esta página al español →

Tools for Providers

Canva for Nonprofits
Canva is a free-to-use online graphic design tool that lets you create professional designs and share or print them. You can use Canva for personal or work projects and collaborate with others.
Mission Spark
Mission Spark provides results-driven consulting, training, and facilitation for nonprofits, social enterprises, and foundations.
TechSoup
TechSoup provides the connections, expertise, and resources to unlock the power of tech for social good.

Free Courses & Online Learning

Hubs

Alison
Alison offers over 5000 free online courses across nine distinct categories.
Coursera
Explore free courses across various topics that provide foundational skills in areas like programming, data analysis, and digital marketing.
NonprofitReady
NonprofitReady offers free online courses, certificate programs, videos, and how-to guides for nonprofit organizations.

Topics

Courses

FBI Safety Alert: Online Threats Targeting Kids

The FBI warns that violent online networks—like one called “764”—are targeting children and teens through games, social media, and chat apps. These networks use manipulation and blackmail to pressure young people into sharing explicit or harmful content, and may coerce them into isolating, self-harming, or worse.

Read the full Public Service Announcement (IC3.gov) ↗

What families and providers can do:

Watch for sudden behavior or mood changes
Be alert to new, secretive “online friends”
Use caution when sharing photos and personal info online
Talk regularly about online safety
Report suspicious contact to the FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) ↗

✚ Share a Community Event, Program, or Resource to be included on our guide.
Entries are reviewed for approval. Thank you for helping us keep the community informed!

Training Programs & Opportunities

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Resources

Anti-Racism Tools (Trying Together)
This toolkit provides resources to help caregivers, educators, and community members promote equity, confront racism, and create safer, inclusive environments for all children and families.
Diversity Education & Consultation (Nurturing Community, Cultivating Justice)
This Dayton area organization is dedicated to eliminating bias, bigotry, and discrimination through education and empowerment, with a vision of thriving, equitable communities that celebrate diversity.
Race Equity and Inclusion Action Guide (Annie E. Casey Foundation)
This free 7-step action guide provides a clear framework to advance and embed race equity and inclusion within your organization.
WEBINAR: Student Religious Expression in Public Schools (National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments)
This webinar features experiences of students and educators who work to support students of all religious, secular, and spiritual backgrounds in showing up in school as their full selves, and the positive impact doing so has had on their learning environments.

Youth Intervention & Support

Perspectives - Learning Program (Constructed Dialogue Institute)
This evidence-based blended learning program equips students with practical skills to engage in dialogue across lines of difference.
more...less...
The program is free for individual educators and their students.
Trauma-Informed Training (Strong Resilient Youth)
This free training equips educators and supportive adults with the knowledge and skills to support children and youth who have experienced trauma.

Organizational Support

Nonprofit Management

BoardSource (Board Development)
BoardSource provides nonprofit board resources to increase board effectiveness and strengthen organizational impact, and serve as the national voice for inspired and effective board leadership.
Dayton Metro Library (Nonprofit Services)
Dayton Metro Library can help you start a nonprofit, find funders, polish your grant proposals, and build networks with other nonprofit professionals and local organizations.
National Council of Nonprofits (Nonprofit Management)
The National Council of Nonprofits works to champion, inform, and connect organizations across the country to score big wins for nonprofits and the communities they serve.
Volunteer Management Courses (NonprofitReady)
NonprofitReady offers free online courses, certificate programs, videos, and how-to guides for nonprofit organizations.

Fundraising & Grants

Association of Fundraising Professionals (Ohio - Greater Springfield Chapter)
Association of Fundraising Professionals (Ohio - Greater Dayton Region) This association works to advance philanthropy by empowering fundraising professionals with education, networking, ethical guidance, and resources to strengthen nonprofits and communities.
Candid Searchable database of funders, webinars, and information on seeking funding.
Grant Writing Courses (NonprofitReady) NonprofitReady offers free online courses, certificate programs, videos, and how-to guides for nonprofit organizations.
WEBINAR: Securing Funding and Long-Term Sustainability (Afterschool Alliance) Finding funding is a top issue for afterschool programs everywhere — let’s talk about what you need to know to secure funds and advocate for long-term program sustainability.

Community Data

Clark County Data

Health Data & Reports (Clark County Combined Health Department) View the findings of the Youth Risk Behavior Survey, Community Health Assessment, and more data about the health of Clark County residents.

Ohio Data

DataOhio
Ohio Youth Surveys Ohio Youth Surveys gather important data on student needs, offering localized insights for schools, districts, and counties, as well as statewide data and information on school health policies and practices
Youth Wellbeing Dashboard (DataOhio) This dataset provides insights into how community conditions impact Ohio youth, including chronic absenteeism and healthy lifestyles.

Instruction & Curriculum

INFOhio
Digital resources to support instruction.
Professional Learning Hub (Ohio's Statewide Family Engagement Center)
This hub offers free professional learning for schools to enhance family engagement in education, blending research with practical tools and strategies.
Teachers Pay Teachers
A global marketplace of PreK-12 resources where educators can find endless innovative and inspiring ideas to address every learning moment.

Afterschool Program Resources

Ohio K-12 Standards Resource Guide This guide was developed to assist and support professionals with the implementation of Ohio’s K-12 learning standards.
Quality Guidelines for Ohio's Afterschool Programs (Ohio Afterschool Network) This guide helps providers, parents, and funders identify characteristics of high quality afterschool programs.

Careers & Community

Employment & Hiring

Miami Valley Nonprofit Collaborative
Explore and share local nonprofit job opportunities through the MVNC Careers page.

Volunteer Service

Volunteers United (United Way of Clark, Champaign & Madison Counties)
Volunteers United connects community members with opportunities that match their skills and passions, promoting personal growth while making an impact.
ServeOhio
ServeOhio is the state's Commision on Service and Volunteerism created to empower local communities to mobilize AmeriCorps members and volunteer resources for the purpose of building a stronger Ohio.