LibGuides: Personal Finance: Credit and Debt Management

Understanding how to manage your credit and debt is crucial for maintaining financial stability, avoiding excessive fees, and creating better long-term financial opportunities.

Credit

Banking and Credit Cards (NOLO)
Offers legal guidance on managing credit card debt, understanding consumer rights, and resolving disputes with credit card companies. It provides practical information on topics such as debt settlement, negotiating with creditors, and the legal consequences of credit card defaults.
Credit, Loans, and Debt (Consumer.gov)
The Consumer.gov page on credit, loans, and debt provides straightforward information to help consumers understand how credit works, how to manage loans, and how to handle debt. It offers practical tips on building good credit, avoiding scams, and making informed financial decisions.
Credit and Debt (FTC)
The Federal Trade Commission's credit and debt page offers comprehensive guidance on managing debt, including advice on dealing with creditors, debt collectors, and improving credit. It also provides resources to help consumers understand their rights, avoid scams, and explore debt consolidation and settlement options.
Credit Card Answers (CFPB)
Provides clear and practical responses to common questions about credit cards, covering topics such as interest rates, fees, and managing credit responsibly. It also offers guidance on consumer rights, protections, and how to resolve issues with credit card companies.

AnnualCreditReport.com
Allows consumers to access free credit reports from the three major credit reporting agencies—Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion—once a year. It provides a secure platform for reviewing credit history, detecting errors, and monitoring financial health, helping individuals manage their credit responsibly.
Credit Karma
Credit Karma offers free tools to help users monitor their credit scores, manage their finances, and find personalized financial products like credit cards, loans, and insurance. It also provides resources for improving credit health and making informed financial decisions.
FICO Scores
The myFICO website's credit education page explains what a FICO score is, detailing how it is calculated based on factors like payment history, credit utilization, and length of credit history. It also provides insights into the importance of FICO scores for lenders and offers tips on maintaining or improving credit health.

My Amortization Chart
Provides tools for calculating amortization schedules for loans. This type of tool typically helps users understand their loan repayment structure, including monthly payment breakdowns, interest, and principal amounts over the life of a loan. Includes other financial calculators such as mortgage, auto loan, annuity, and compound interest.
Loans and Mortgages (FTC)
The Federal Trade Commission's loans and mortgages page offers valuable information on different types of loans, including mortgages, auto loans, and payday loans, with a focus on consumer rights and avoiding predatory lending. It provides tips for securing safe loans, understanding terms, and recognizing potential loan scams.
Auto Loans (CFPB)
Offers guidance on understanding auto loan terms, comparing offers, and managing car loans. It provides tools and resources for making informed decisions, handling loan issues, and protecting consumer rights in the auto loan process.

The Balance
Offers expert financial advice on personal finance topics like budgeting, investing, and debt management, with practical guides and resources.
Bankrate
Provides detailed information and comparisons on loans, credit cards, mortgages, savings accounts, and financial calculators.
NerdWallet
NerdWallet is a financial advice platform that provides tools and resources to help users make informed decisions about personal finance. It offers guidance on topics such as credit cards, loans, banking, investing, mortgages, and budgeting. The website also features comparison tools, calculators, and expert advice to assist users in navigating financial products and services.
WalletHub
Specializes in financial comparisons, including credit cards, loans, and banking services, while also providing free credit score monitoring.

Debt

Ohio Attorney General's Collection Enforcement
The Ohio Attorney General's Collections Enforcement page provides information on the state's efforts to recover debts owed to government entities, such as taxes and fines. It includes resources for both debtors and creditors, outlining payment options, legal processes, and guidelines for businesses handling debt collection.
National Foundation for Credit Counseling (NFCC)
The National Foundation for Credit Counseling (NFCC) website offers a range of resources to help individuals manage debt, improve credit, and achieve financial stability through professional counseling services. It provides educational tools, budgeting advice, and personalized debt management plans, all designed to assist consumers in navigating financial challenges.
Debt Collection (CFPB)
Provides consumers with essential information about their rights when dealing with debt collectors, including how to respond to collection attempts and dispute inaccurate claims. It also offers tools, sample letters, and resources to help individuals manage or resolve their debts while avoiding common pitfalls.