LibGuides: Personal Finance: Banking and Investing

Your biggest asset in growing your investments is time. The resources below might provide valuable insights into managing risks, building wealth, and planning for long-term financial goals.

Banking and Investing Resources

Bank Accounts and Services (CFPB)
Provides essential information on different types of bank accounts, including checking, savings, and prepaid accounts, along with tips on managing them effectively. It also covers consumer rights, fees, and steps to resolve disputes with financial institutions.
DepositAccounts
Provides comprehensive comparisons and reviews of deposit accounts, such as savings accounts, checking accounts, and certificates of deposit (CDs). It offers tools to compare interest rates, fees, and account features from various banks and credit unions to help users find the best deposit accounts for their needs.
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
The FDIC Resources page offers tools, educational materials, and data for consumers, bankers, and researchers. It provides information on deposit insurance, banking regulations, community initiatives, and various financial tools to promote public confidence and stability in the U.S. financial system.
Find a Better Bank
Offers tools and resources to compare and find better banking options, including savings and checking accounts, based on fees, features, and customer satisfaction. It provides detailed comparisons and reviews to help users make informed decisions about choosing the best financial institution for their needs.
MyCreditUnion.gov
Provides information on credit unions, including their benefits, how they differ from traditional banks, and how to join one. It offers resources for understanding credit union services, accessing financial products, and managing your accounts effectively.
Opening a Bank Account
The Consumer.gov page on opening a bank account explains the benefits and features of various types of accounts, including checking and savings accounts. It offers practical advice on selecting the right account, understanding fees and terms, and the importance of comparing options to manage your money effectively.

Investopedia
Provides comprehensive educational content on investing, financial terms, and personal finance, aimed at helping users understand complex financial concepts. The site also offers market analysis, investment strategies, and tools for making informed financial decisions.
Investor.gov
Offers resources and tools for investors to understand and navigate the financial markets, including educational materials on investing, fraud prevention, and financial planning. The site also provides information on how to verify the credentials of financial professionals and reports on investment scams and regulatory issues.
Kiplinger
Kiplinger’s website offers expert financial advice, including investment strategies, personal finance tips, and economic forecasts. It features tools and articles to help users manage their money and make informed financial decisions.
The Motley Fool
Provides investment advice, stock recommendations, and market analysis, aimed at helping individuals build wealth through informed decision-making. The site also offers educational content, financial news, and tools to guide both beginner and experienced investors.

BigCharts (MarketWatch)
Offers advanced charting tools and financial data for analyzing stocks, mutual funds, and market indices. The site provides interactive charts, historical data, and technical analysis features to help investors track and evaluate market trends.
BrokerCheck (FINRA)
An online tool that allows users to research the professional backgrounds, qualifications, and disciplinary history of brokers, financial advisors, and brokerage firms. It helps investors verify the credentials of financial professionals and make informed choices about who to trust with their investments.
FINRA
FINRA.org's investing section offers resources and tools to help investors make informed decisions, including guides on investment products, risk management, and fraud prevention. The site also provides educational materials on market basics, retirement planning, and regulatory information to protect and empower investors.
Fund Analyzer (FINRA)
The Fund Analyzer tool provides a comprehensive platform for evaluating mutual funds, ETFs, and other investment products by analyzing fees, expenses, and performance. It helps investors compare and assess the long-term impact of fees on investment returns, aiding in more informed decision-making.
Zacks Investment Research
Provides stock ratings, research reports, and market analysis with a focus on helping investors make informed decisions through its proprietary Zacks Rank system. The site also offers investment strategies, financial news, and tools to track stocks, funds, and market trends.

Barron's
The Barron's website offers in-depth financial news, market analysis, and investment insights, covering a wide range of topics from stock performance to economic trends. It provides expert commentary and detailed reports to help investors make informed decisions in the financial markets.
Bloomberg
Bloomberg provides comprehensive financial news, analysis, and data on global markets, economies, and industries, offering insights into current financial trends and investment opportunities. The site features expert commentary, real-time market updates, and in-depth reports on business and economic developments.
Financial Times
The Financial Times website offers in-depth coverage of global financial markets, business news, and economic analysis, with a focus on high-quality journalism and expert insights. It provides detailed reports on corporate developments, market trends, and policy impacts, aimed at investors and business professionals.
Markets and Finance (The Wall Street Journal)
The Wall Street Journal's finance section provides comprehensive coverage of financial markets, investment trends, and economic news, with detailed analysis and expert commentary. It features updates on stocks, bonds, commodities, and financial policy, catering to investors, business leaders, and financial professionals.

Morningstar Investment Center
Morningstar Investment Center is a tool designed specifically for libraries to provide independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio-building tools, and investment education. With its user-friendly interface and in-depth analysis capabilities, Morningstar can give valuable insights into various investment opportunities, helping users build and manage their investment portfolios effectively.
Features include:
- Portfolio Analysis
  - Morningstar Investment Center provides tools for analyzing and tracking investment portfolios, including performance metrics, asset allocation, and risk assessment.
- Research Reports
  - Users can access comprehensive research reports on individual stocks, mutual funds, ETFs, and other investment products, including analyst commentary, ratings, and historical data.
- Screening Tools
  - The platform offers customizable screening tools to identify investment opportunities based on specific criteria such as sector, market capitalization, and financial metrics.
- Financial Planning
  - Morningstar Investment Center includes financial planning capabilities, allowing users to create and track financial goals, develop retirement plans, and assess investment strategies.
- Watchlists and Alerts
  - Users can create watchlists to monitor potential investments and set up alerts for price changes, news updates, and other relevant events.
- Education Resources
  - The platform provides educational resources, articles, and videos to help users enhance their investment knowledge and skills.
- Integration
  - Morningstar Investment Center can integrate with other financial platforms and software, facilitating seamless access to investment data and portfolio management tools.
- Customization
  - Users can customize their experience by setting preferences, creating personalized dashboards, and saving frequently used tools and reports.
Value Line Research Center
The Value Line Research Center is a financial analysis tool that provides investors with detailed information and research on stocks, mutual funds, options, and other investment opportunities. Offering comprehensive reports, rankings, and forecasts, Value Line Research Center is a helpful resource for investors looking to research and track market trends, identify potential investment opportunities, and manage their portfolios effectively.
- Coverage of stocks comprising more than 90% of the value of all stocks traded on U.S. Exchanges
- Companies included have market values ranging from less than $1 billion to well over $2 trillion across 100 industries
- Historical reports and financial data
- Stock Screener
- Access to the Dow 30 stocks
- Online training and user support
  - Access to historical webinars
- Fund Advisor Plus
  - Helps investors view, sort, screen, and develop reports on all mutual funds to identify those that meet their specific criteria
- Options Survey
  - Looks at all regularly listed U.S. stock, ETF, and index options, and evaluates and ranks them from 1 (for buying) to 5 (for selling)
- Special Situation Service
  - Recommends one aggressive and one conservative income-oriented stock each month with the biggest earnings potential
- Value Line ETF Service
  - Screen information, data, and analysis on more than 2,800 Exchange-traded Funds. Results can also be downloaded to Microsoft Excel
- Value Line Climate Change Investing Service
  - A managed portfolio of twenty stocks that stand to benefit from ongoing responses to climate change
Weiss Financial Ratings
Weiss Financial Ratings is a simple-to-use financial analysis platform designed to help consumers make informed decisions by offering transparent, independent ratings and financial planning tools. Weiss offers insights into the financial health and stability of multiple investment vehicles such as stocks, mutual funds, financial institutions, and insurance companies.
Features include:
- Investment ratings on Stocks, Bonds, Mutual Funds, and ETFs
- Safety ratings for Banks, Credit Unions, and Insurance Companies
- Insurers can be searched by type, such as Health, Life & Annuity, and Property & Casualty
- Information on Medigap Supplemental insurance with comparisons for rates and plan benefits in all 50 states
- Articles from Weiss Ratings on timely investment, banking, and insurance topics
- Financial Literacy Guides
  - The Literacy series provides readers with easy-to-understand guidance on how to manage their finances. Designed for those who are just starting out and for those who may need help handling their finances, this series outlines how to make the most of one’s money, which pitfalls to avoid, and what to watch out for.
    Supplemental worksheets & planners
- Consumer Insurance Guides
  - Weiss Ratings Consumer Guides offer easy-to-use tools to help individuals navigate through nine important areas: homeowners’ insurance, automobile insurance, variable annuities, term life insurance, health savings accounts, long-term care insurance, Medicare supplement insurance, Medicare prescription drug coverage, and elder-care choices. Each guide offers a narrative about the topic, what to look for when choosing a plan or policy, and recommendations on which companies to work with.
    Supplemental worksheets & planners