LibGuides: Consumer Information: Identity Theft

Identity Theft occurs when someone unlawfully acquires and uses another person's personal information, such as Social Security numbers or credit card details, to commit fraud or other crimes. This can lead to financial loss, damage to credit, and legal complications for the victim as their identity is misused for unauthorized activities.

You can start your recovery process on IdentityTheft.gov, which the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) manages. You can also call the FTC's toll-free hotline: 1-877-438-4338. These identity theft resources can give you more information when deciding whether to hire an attorney.

Identity Theft Resources

Identity Theft (usa.gov)
The USA.gov Identity Theft page provides a comprehensive overview of what to do if your identity is stolen, including steps for reporting the theft, securing your accounts, and recovering your identity. It also links to resources from various federal agencies and offers guidance on protecting your personal information.
IdentityTheft.gov (FTC)
The IdentityTheft.gov website, run by the Federal Trade Commission, provides a centralized platform for reporting identity theft and creating a personalized recovery plan. It offers step-by-step guidance on how to mitigate damage, recover stolen information, and prevent future incidents.
IRS Identity Theft Victim Assistance
The IRS Identity Theft Victim Assistance page provides information on how the IRS assists individuals who have been victims of identity theft, including steps for reporting and resolving tax-related fraud. It offers guidance on what to do if your Social Security number has been misused, how to restore your tax records, and resources for further assistance.
Ohio Attorney General's Office - Identity Theft
The Ohio Attorney General’s Identity Theft page provides resources and guidance for residents affected by identity theft, including how to report incidents, steps to recover stolen information, and tips for preventing future theft. It also offers tools and information specific to Ohio residents, including forms and contact details for further assistance.
Report Fraud (DOJ)
Offers guidance on how to report various types of fraud to federal authorities, including identity theft and financial fraud. It provides resources and instructions for submitting fraud reports, accessing support, and cooperating with investigations.
Social Security Administration
The Social Security Administration’s Fraud page offers information on how to report fraud involving Social Security benefits or personal information. It provides guidance on recognizing fraud, protecting your identity, and steps to take if you suspect fraudulent activity related to Social Security.

Equifax Identity Theft Protection
The Equifax Identity Theft Protection page offers information on Equifax’s services for monitoring and protecting against identity theft, including credit monitoring, fraud alerts, and identity restoration services. It provides details on how to enroll in their protection plans and steps to take if you suspect your identity has been stolen.
Experian Identity Theft Victim Assistance
The Experian Identity Theft Victim Assistance page provides resources and guidance for individuals who believe they have been victims of identity theft. It offers information on how to report fraud, freeze or unfreeze credit, and recover from identity theft, along with tools for monitoring and protecting personal information.
TransUnion Fraud Victim Resources
The TransUnion Fraud Victim Resources page offers guidance and tools for individuals who have experienced identity theft, including steps to report fraud, place fraud alerts, and freeze or unfreeze credit. It provides resources to help victims recover their identity and protect their personal information from further misuse.

Identity Theft - Privacy Rights Clearinghouse
The Privacy Rights Clearinghouse Identity Theft page provides information on understanding, preventing, and recovering from identity theft. It offers practical advice, step-by-step guides, and resources for victims to address and resolve identity theft issues, along with tips for safeguarding personal information.
Identity Theft Resource Center (ITRC)
The Identity Theft Resource Center (ITRC) website offers support and resources for individuals affected by identity theft, including personalized assistance, recovery plans, and educational materials. It provides tools for reporting and resolving identity theft issues, along with guidance on preventing future fraud and protecting personal information.
Identity Theft Resources (NCSA)
The StaySafeOnline website offers resources and guidance on protecting against identity theft, including tips on securing personal information, recognizing online threats, and managing digital security. It provides practical advice for individuals to prevent identity theft and respond effectively if their information is compromised.

NOLO Identity Theft
The Nolo Identity Theft page provides comprehensive legal information on how to handle identity theft, including steps for reporting theft, resolving issues, and protecting yourself from future fraud. It offers practical advice on dealing with credit reports, legal remedies, and steps to take if your identity has been stolen.
Ohio Legal Help - Identity Theft
The Ohio Legal Help Identity Theft page offers information and resources for Ohio residents dealing with identity theft, including legal guidance and steps to take for recovery. It provides tools for reporting fraud, securing personal information, and navigating the legal aspects of resolving identity theft issues.
What Does an Identity Theft Attorney Do? (FindLaw)
Attorneys explain the role of attorneys specializing in identity theft cases, including how they assist victims with legal issues, recovery processes, and navigating the complexities of fraud-related claims. It provides insights into the legal services offered, such as filing lawsuits, negotiating with creditors, and securing compensation for damages.

AARP's Fraud Resource Center
The AARP Scams & Fraud page offers information and resources to help individuals recognize, prevent, and recover from various types of scams and fraud. It provides tips on protecting personal information, understanding common fraud tactics, and steps to take if you fall victim to a scam.
Action Plan for Victims of Identity Theft (OVC)
A step-by-step guide on how to navigate Identity Theft.
Victim Resources for Identity Theft (CFPB)
Provides guidance for individuals who suspect they have been victims of identity theft, including steps to take for reporting the theft, securing personal information, and recovering from financial losses. It offers detailed instructions on contacting credit bureaus, filing police reports, and managing fraudulent accounts.