LibGuides: Consumer Information: Fraud and Consumer Protection

Consumer Protection refers to the laws, regulations, and organizations designed to ensure the rights of consumers are upheld and to safeguard them from unfair practices. These protections help prevent fraud, ensure product safety, and promote fair business practices, giving consumers the confidence and security they need when making purchases.

Consumer Protection Resources

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB)
The CFPB oversees financial products and services that affect consumers, enforcing federal consumer protection laws.
Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
The FTC is a federal agency that protects consumers by preventing anticompetitive, deceptive, and unfair business practices.
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
The FDA regulates food, pharmaceuticals, medical devices, and cosmetics to ensure consumer safety.
Internet Crime Complaint Center (FBI)
The IC3 (Internet Crime Complaint Center) Complaint Choice page provides information on how to file a complaint about internet-related crimes, including identity theft and fraud. It offers guidance on selecting the appropriate complaint type, submitting reports to law enforcement, and tracking the status of your complaint.
Social Security Administration (SSA)
The SSA's Scam Awareness page provides information on how to identify, avoid, and report Social Security-related scams, including those involving phone calls, emails, and texts. It also offers tips for protecting your personal information and outlines what to do if you suspect you’ve been targeted by a scam.
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (USCPSC)
This website provides information on product recalls, safety standards, and tips to help consumers avoid risks associated with everyday products. It also offers resources for reporting unsafe products and understanding the regulations that protect consumers from hazardous items.
U.S. Department of Justice - Consumer Protection Branch
The Consumer Protection Branch works to enforce consumer protection laws, particularly those involving fraud, unfair practices, and unsafe products.

Ohio Attorney General's Office - Consumer Protection Section
The Consumer Protection Section of the Ohio Attorney General’s Office helps protect consumers from unfair, deceptive, and unconscionable business practices. They handle consumer complaints, enforce consumer laws, and provide educational resources.
Ohio Department of Commerce - The Office of Consumer Affairs (OCA)
It offers publications and materials designed to educate you about various financial products and services and alert you to current and emerging financial scams. OCA also facilitates the consumer complaints process involving state-chartered financial institutions, money service businesses, and consumer finance companies.
Ohio Department of Health
The Ohio Department of Health's Consumer Protection Program focuses on ensuring that healthcare facilities meet state standards and provide resources for consumers regarding health-related issues.

Consumer Action
A national consumer education and advocacy organization that provides multilingual financial education materials on various issues, including financial literacy, privacy, and scams.
National Association of Consumer Advocates (NACA)
A nonprofit organization of attorneys and consumer advocates committed to representing consumers’ interests and providing resources about consumer law.
National Consumer Law Center (NCLC)
The NCLC advocates for consumer rights, particularly for low-income and vulnerable populations.
Consumer Reports Advocacy
The advocacy division of Consumer Reports focuses on policy issues that affect consumers.
National Consumers League (NCL)
The NCL is a nonprofit that advocates for consumer and worker rights, focusing on fraud prevention, health care, and internet safety.

Consumer Protection Topics (NOLO)
Nolo's consumer protection section offers legal information and resources on consumer rights, including topics like credit and debt, product safety, fraud, and privacy. The site provides articles, guides, and tools to help consumers understand and protect their rights in various legal situations.
Federal Trade Commission Consumer Advice (FTC)
Provides step-by-step instructions for recovering from a scam, including how to report the scam, protect your accounts, and minimize further damage. It also offers advice on recognizing the signs of a scam and resources for additional support and guidance.
File a Complaint (usa.gov)
The USA.gov Complaints page provides guidance on how to file complaints against businesses, banks, or government agencies, covering a wide range of consumer issues. It also offers links to relevant federal and state agencies that handle specific types of complaints, helping consumers resolve disputes and report misconduct.
Ohio Attorney General's Office - Consumer Tips
The Ohio Attorney General's Consumer Tips & Scams page offers practical advice on how to avoid common scams, detailing warning signs and preventive measures. It also provides information on reporting scams and seeking help if you've been targeted, along with specific tips for various types of fraud.
Scams and Frauds (usa.gov)
The USA.gov Scams and Fraud page offers information on how to recognize, report, and protect yourself from common scams and fraudulent activities. It provides resources and guidance on avoiding scams related to identity theft, phishing, financial fraud, and more, along with links to report incidents to the appropriate authorities.

Consumer Information

Credit Reporting Agencies

How to Request a Credit Report

Check your reports if you think you may be a victim of identity theft

Equifax Credit Reporting Agency

Experian Credit Reporting Agency

TransUnion Credit Reporting Agency

Consumer Protection Resources