LibGuides: Election and Voting Information: Voting Basics

Voting Information

Elections and Voting in Ohio (Ohio Secretary of State)
Provides more information about voting, candidates, the election calendar, absentee voting, and election results. Also, you will find resources for election officials and Ohio precinct election officials.
Clark County Board of Elections
The Board of Elections is responsible for ensuring fair, accurate, and timely elections at primary, general, and special elections. The office also receives petitions for nominations, checks signatures and addresses for validity, and monitors campaign expenses to ensure compliance with the law.
General Overview of the Election Process
From USA.gov, an official United States government website, find answers to common questions about voting and elections.

Voting with a Disability
From the Ohio Secretary of State's office, this website provides information on how voters with disabilities can access voting resources, including details on accommodations, accessible voting machines, and assistance available at polling places. It also offers guidance on absentee voting and additional support services to ensure all voters can participate in elections.
National Disability Rights Network
Provides resources for voters with disabilities, including information on how to register, understand voting rights, and make a voting plan. It also highlights the importance of participation in the political process and shares stories from individuals about their voting experiences.

Federal Voting Assistance Program
The Federal Voting Assistance Program (FVAP) website provides resources to help U.S. service members, their families, and overseas citizens vote absentee in federal elections. It includes instructions on registering to vote, requesting absentee ballots, and accessing election materials, as well as guidance for Voting Assistance Officers and election officials.
Voting Overseas in Clark County
The Clark County Board of Elections website provides information for uniformed and overseas absentee voters, including instructions on how to register to vote, request absentee ballots, and submit them. It ensures that military personnel and overseas citizens have the necessary resources to participate in elections while away from their local voting precincts.
Absentee Voting for Uniformed Services
The Ohio Secretary of State's website provides information for military and overseas voters, detailing how to request absentee ballots, important dates, and frequently asked questions. It also offers resources such as sample ballots, election results, and voter registration options to ensure these voters can participate in elections securely and efficiently.
Non-Military Overseas Voting
The Voter Passport initiative provides resources and guidance for overseas and military voters to ensure they can participate in elections. Includes information on how to register, request absentee ballots, and submit them securely.

All Ohio voters with up-to-date registration information can vote early; in person or from their home in any election.

Absentee Voting

Ohio allows any registered voter to request an absentee ballot and vote by mail. The voter or the voter's family member may return the ballot.

You will need to add postage to your envelope if you return your completed ballot by mail. If you want to drop your ballot off without adding postage, place it in the voter drop box at the Election Office.

How to Request an Absentee Ballot

In-Person Early Voting

Starting the day after the close of voter registration, voters can cast an early in-person ballot at the Board of Elections office. Please bring identification to the vote center.

Acceptable Forms of Identification
All voters who vote at the polls must provide identification. The Ohio Secretary of State Office outlines what are acceptable forms of identification.
Sample Ballot
The Ohio Secretary of State's Office provide an interactive tool that allows Ohio voters to view sample ballots in their community, as well as review their voter registration and other information.

Voting In-Person

In Ohio, you need to show a current, valid ID to vote. Your ID must include your name (which must substantially conform to your name as it appears in the poll list), photo, address, and expiration date that has not passed.

Acceptable Forms of Identification
All voters who vote at the polls must provide identification. The Ohio Secretary of State Office outlines what are acceptable forms of identification.
Find My Polling Location
Use the interactive map to find your polling location or select the county in which you live from the list.
Sample Ballot
The Ohio Secretary of State's Office provide an interactive tool that allows Ohio voters to view sample ballots in their community, as well as review their voter registration and other information.