Codes contain legal rules known as statutes, regulations, or ordinances which are mandatory, meaning that courts must follow them. Codes are accessed through an index that refers you to a numbered section. Most state and some local law can be found on the Web by going to a state’s official site and looking for links to law and local government (or cities and counties).
Codified Ordinances of the City of SpringfieldCodified ordinances are a systematic compilation of all the laws, regulations, and ordinances enacted by a local government. They provide a convenient and comprehensive resource for residents, officials, and legal professionals to understand and comply with the laws and regulations governing the jurisdiction.
The Building Regulations Department exists to help maintain safety and compliance with Building Codes.
The Clark County Combined Health District is a governmental agency responsible for promoting and protecting the health of the residents of Clark County, Ohio. It provides a wide range of public health services, including disease prevention and control, health education, immunizations, environmental health services, and emergency preparedness.
Code Compliance enforces various City codes and ordinances pertaining to private property use and maintenance.
The Planning and Zoning Division maintains a focused approach to long-term and short-term visioning for the community.
Ohio Revised CodeThe Ohio Revised Code (ORC) is the codification of the general and permanent laws of the state of Ohio. It organizes statutes enacted by the Ohio General Assembly into subject matter titles. The ORC covers a wide range of legal topics, including criminal law, civil law, family law, taxation, and many others. It serves as the primary legal resource for understanding and applying the laws of Ohio. The Ohio Legislative Service Commission maintains and updates the Ohio Revised Code to reflect changes in the law.
The Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) comprises rules set by state agencies to implement laws passed by the Ohio General Assembly. Unlike the Ohio Revised Code (ORC), which contains legislative statutes, the OAC provides detailed regulations, procedures, and guidelines for enforcing those laws. It covers a wide array of subjects, including administrative procedures, licensing requirements, environmental standards, and education mandates. Each state agency promulgates rules within its jurisdiction, and these regulations are compiled and organized by the Ohio Secretary of State's office, alongside the Ohio Revised Code. Together, they form Ohio's legal framework.
Publishes proposed rules and regulations, as well as final rule adoptions, notices of public hearings, and other administrative actions.
The Code contains the general and permanent laws of the United States, organized into titles based on subject matter. The Code currently consists of 54 titles and five appendices. More information on the content of the Code can be found in the Detailed Guide to the Code. For pending and new federal laws check Congress.gov, the government website for legislative information.
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis.
Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas. Large parts may be subdivided into subparts. All parts are organized in sections, and most citations in the CFR are provided at the section level. A list of agencies and where they appear in the CFR may be found in Appendix C of the U.S. Government Manual.
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a continuously updated online version of the CFR and provides enhanced features that are not part of the published CFR.
The Federal Register website is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. It provides a comprehensive and authoritative source of regulatory information and serves as a public resource for understanding and participating in the regulatory process of the United States government. The website allows users to access and search for documents published in the Federal Register, which is crucial for staying informed about federal regulations, policies, and actions.